Michelle's Place

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Addiction #1: Crochet



Crochet Blogs
Previous | Next
I ♥ Crochetville
Crochet Pattern Central
Denise's Crochet Paradise
Around the Crochet Table
Stargazer's Links


I am Shetland Wool. I am a traditional sort who can sometimes be a little on the harsh side. Though I look delicate I am tough as nails and prone to intricacies. Despite my acerbic ways I am widely respected and even revered.

What kind of yarn are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

I'm making:


  • pumpkins
  • fall doilies
  • Mile-a-minute afghan [3 strips, plus joining, left]
  • [Just half of the joining, left!]
  • @ crochetville!
    bag gallery

On hold:


  • crochetville, a
    stash reduction


Addiction #2: Mystery novels


Nancy Atherton, England
Joanne Fluke, baking
Earlene Fowler, quilts
Dianne Mott Davidson, cooking
Susan Wittig Albert, herbal
Nevada Barr, park ranger
Sue Grafton, female p.i.
Janet Evanovich, female p.i.
Miriam Grace Monfredo, upstate NY mysteries
Stop, you're killing me
Authors on the web


Addiction #3: Children's books


Random House LGB
Little Golden Books

Collecting Little Golden Books
Illustrators
SurLaLune Fairy Tale studies
Nancy Drew, sleuth
Barnes and Noble
Scholastic books


Addiction #4: Home cleaning and organization


Image by Anaesthetic
Woman's Day worksheets
Organized Christmas
Organized Home
Family Grand Plan
Flylady

Immediate goals:

  • Civil service forms--yeah, yeah, yeah, just do it already!
  • Finish putting patterns in binders
  • Paint half wall in living room


Addiction #5: Yoga, Pilates, fitness


Yoga.org
Santosha yoga postures
Winsor Pilates

About me:
About me I'm definitely a ram Totally Complete Jav-ahhhh It's my water All kinds All the time

Email me

**Wishlists**
My Amazon wish list
Tim's and my Walmart wishlist

Today I'm

The internet is:

The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

Upstate NY is:

The WeatherPixie

moon phases

Join me:




I'm on a
Suck it in, girls!
I've fallen off the wagon =o(
Clean along 2004
Shed/Garage

I'm reading:




Kid's Request:





Use my buttons:


Michelle's Place by Julie
Michelle's Place by Donna
Michelle's Place by Donna
I like acrylic
I brake for 

yarn
My kids hide my 

hooks
Clean along 2004
Clean along 2004


Politics:



Click for www.electoral-vote.com
I support Terror Alert Level

Bloginality:


I'm an ISTJ. What are you?


Kids Pages:


Emsie!
Hogie!
Fry!


Credits:


Diaryland
Older 

entries
Adapted from Raging Pistachio

Internet Bumper Stickers
Subscribe with Bloglines


Thanks, Pal!

Tuesday, Jun. 29, 2004 - 11:32 am

Thank you secret pal! I got this little package from her almost a week ago, but have taken this long to post the picture. It's a cute little carved dolphin bookmark, and some yarn needles:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And did you see the little "about me" picture Image Hosted by ImageShack.us at the top left? I got it here. It's pretty close to what I actually look like, except that while my eyes are very blue, they aren't quite THAT blue (are anyone's?!); and I rarely wear my hair straight down--it's usually pulled back somehow. I always wear "dangling" or "hoop" earrings.

I canNOT wait to get my yarn from Smiley's. I hope it comes soon!!!!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Friday, Jun. 25, 2004 - 11:59 am

Time for me to show off those thread projects that I have been working on! None of the stuff has been blocked or had the ends woven in yet (I thought I hated doing that in yarn, OMG, it's 1000x worse in thread.) First up is a doily:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And next are some bookmarks (all are free from somewhere on the net):

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Here are some pictures from when my sister was visiting with her son Wyatt--we all had a great time, and by the end of her visit, the babies all were tolerating each other!

Brenda and Wyatt:Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Holly, Emma, Brenda and Wyatt:Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Wyatt and Uncle Tim:Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Wyatt on a future toy Brenda got at a garage sale for $50:Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Ok, everyone reading this, please keep good thoughts in mind for me--I am waiting to hear from a college I sent a job application to (working in the library there). I feel like it's just the right job for me, but I just need to get in for an interview (and then have them pick me!!). Pleeeeeease, call me, college!

Thanks everyone!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004 - 3:13 pm

Did you make it through all those quizzes I posted yesterday? Yeah, that was a bit much, sorry bout that. I felt bad for not having posted any crochet pictures. I just haven't had time, I swear! I will tonight though--hubby's at work, so the computer will be free.

I just purchased $30 worth of yarn from Smiley's Yarns--for the sock crochet along (under "join me" on the left). I also bought lots of other kinds of yarn because they have a $30 minimum purchase amount. But their prices are so cheap! I couldn't justify buying it elsewhere. I hope it gets here quick, I am psyched to start! But boy, did I blow my "yarn diet." Whoops.

bumper sticker

Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004 - 3:10 pm

Well, I don't have my pictures today--I forgot I had to take someone to the train station last night, which means I didn't crochet or geek. Oh well.

I found a plethora (love that word) of new quizzes and crap, and I guess I would say they're all pretty accurate:

Take the quiz: "Which American City Are You?"

Seattle
Your dark exterior masks a caffeine driven activism. You'll take up a cause and you'll get ugly to advance it.

I Am

Which tarot card are you?

YOU ARE AUDREY HEPBURN
WORSHIP! You're inner Bombshell is the beautiful
Audrey Hepburn. Like her you've been blessed
with a "certain something" that no
one could describe accurately. You are more
reserved than other bombshells, and that shows
in your gentle, graceful nature. You like doing
things for other people and love volunteering
for your favorite charity. Yours is a rare gift
in this day and age. You don't need to show a
lot of skin to be sexy, all you need is your
eyes. To see Audrey at the top of her game
watch the movie "Breakfast at
Tiffanys".



Who is your inner bombshell?
brought to you by Quizilla

md.jpg
You are an enigma wraped in a mystery, you blog
for yourself. You have your own reasons for
doing what you do. We are still glad your here!



What kind of blogger am I?
brought to you by Quizilla

line 4

Tuesday, Jun. 22, 2004 - 3:18 pm

Irritated. I finally took the time to save some pictures of my latest stuff--thread, by golly--and bring them into work so I can upload them, and what happens? Disk reading error. Damn pc thinks the disk isn't formatted. So, I can't put them on today.

I even took before and after pictures of the bathroom I painted, to show y'all. I haven't forgotten my Clean along 2004, but I have been counting the painting the bathroom as last week's room. This week, what should we do?? How about the dreaded (to me anyways) kitchen2 pages!. I have a community yard sale coming up, and need to decrease my clutter, especially in the kitchen.

I will now add filler content:


You are an Elementalist. Your magic stems from the
forces of nature. You might be a forest
nuturing Druid, a storm-creating Weather-Wizard
or any of the many Elementals, but one thing is
sure-- your bond with nature is strong. You can
rely heavily on nature to support yourself
aesthetically or physically for it lends you
both comfort and strength. Your instincts
rarely fail you. You are vibrantly passionate
but are sometimes carried away by your own
emotions.



Which Magical Order Are You In?
brought to you by Quizilla

Also, you may now address me as: Tigerlily Proudneck of Longbottom. I thought this was cute, even though I am not a giant LOTR fan (no comments, please).

I better have those pictures for you tomorrow >:o(

line 2

Wednesday, Jun. 16, 2004 - 2:37 pm

Whew! I have been too busy to blog this week--I was swamped at work last Thursday and Friday, so I didn't write then. I barely have time to breathe on the weekend, let alone log on to my husband's computer, so I rarely write then. Monday and Tuesday I took vacation days from work, so I didn't write until today. So the wait was for a good cause! �

Unfortunately, I have no stunning crochet news to report, LOL. I can't find my hook for my Arabesque afghan--Holly has hidden it on me, because it's purple and she wants it for herself. I burned out on making squares for both crochet-alongs--pineapple and 63 squares--so those just sat there. I was not inspired to make more crochet-on-the-double discloths.

Guess what I did try though?! Thread! I got 3 new balls/skeins at an estate sale, and tried making some bookmarks for the upcoming crochetville item swap. It is definitely different than working with yarn--I felt like a lumbering giant with arthritic hands and fingers the size of hot dogs. Up until now I have made bookmarks and doilies with baby yarn, but they are a little too thick. My first thread bookmark was a little sloppy, but by the time I got to the 5th or 6th one, I was beginning to get the feel for it. I am kind of excited to make some more now!

My sister Brenda is visiting with her 11 month old, Wyatt. We've had a blast watching the kids all "play" together (actually, they babies are all kind of jealous of each other). I also painted one of the bathrooms in our house, 1--because it desperately needed it--Holly and Ryan love to peel wallpaper; and 2--because we someday want to be able to sell this house. It looks much better now, though it's not quite done.

I will try to post some new pictures tomorrow!

line 2

Monday, Jun. 07, 2004 - 3:11 pm

God, is it Monday again already?! Ugh, this week better go by fast.

I made progress on my Arabesque afghan this past weekend, but I realize now that I should have bought 2 skeins of Pound of Love Sage. That's what I get for guessing how much to buy =) Oh well, in my eyes, it's a valid excuse to "break" the yarn diet. Darn. (hehe)

It's time to switch rooms for the

Clean along 2004 Clean along 2004

I picked a bedroom for this week. Did anyone feel like they made progress by their 15 minutes/night working in last week's bathroom room? I did, and it felt pretty good! *yes, my life just may be that boring* At my house we've taken to calling the 15 minutes/night "15 minutes of fame," and the words make my husband shudder with fake enthusiasm. I have to thank him though, because I make him prod me along into getting the work done.

My 10 year old saw Shrek 2, and she said it was great. According to this quiz, I am:

dragon
you are THE DRAGON! you're often misunderstood, but
are actually quite flirtatious and romantic

What Shrek character are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

Ok, guess I better do some more work now, 'til later....

line 4

Friday, Jun. 04, 2004 - 12:05 pm

Yup, it's me:

Poseidon
Poseidon



?? Which Of The Greek Gods Are You ??
brought to you by Quizilla

So far, I have made 2 dishcloths with my c-o-d present. It is fast, but hard for me to get the "feel" of. I am going to keep making them, so I hopefully can sell them this summer.

Gotta run, short on time today!

line 1

Wednesday, Jun. 02, 2004 - 3:05 pm

I am adding a new column feature called, "What Children Do." To start this off, I have exhibit A, the problem:

book chuck

Holly and Ryan love to fling all my golden books (500+) off the shelves, and all over the living room. Holly then shuffles through them saying, "Look at all the snow!" Much as we have tried to instill in them Respect for books, how mommy and daddy like to be able to walk in the room, etc., they are still only 2 and 1 y.o. Hence, our solution:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Unfortunately, it is much more difficult to read the books frequently, but I don't have to pick them up several times a day.

Ah, back to crochet. Here is my fabulous present from my Secret Pal:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I am very excited about making some dishcloths to sell at a giant garage sale this summer, using my new crochet-on-the-double stuff from her!

And here is the arabesque afghan so far:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The color is more like the top picture, but I wanted to try to get a closeup of the stitch.

Gotta run now!

line 3

Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004 - 3:46 pm

I am being a lax blogger again. I have no pictures, and am properly ashamed. What I DO have are quiz results. Why do I do these things? They are addicting junk, probably written by homework-procrastinating 15 year olds playing on mom and dad's computer. Anyhoo:

Boring!

Ballet Shoes
Ballet shoes- beautiful, graceful, and creative,
you enjoy dancing writing and music. You are
often very poetic and sometimes dramatic. You
keep to yourself aside from a few close friends
that you can relate to. [please vote! thank
you! :)]



What Kind of Shoe Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

and, EW!


You are going to marry Brad Pitt. He is always
friendly to anybody he ever meets and he is
very talented as an actor. He is also very
sincere and friendly. He will respect you until
the day he dies. Congrats!!



Which male celebrity are you going to marry? (14 choices now!!)
brought to you by Quizilla

I had a pretty good holiday weekend, 2 of the 3 days were nice, and then it rained all yesterday. Of course! Family all had fun playing outside, and I did about 15 rows of my arabesque afghan and watched Goonies.

New room for the Clean along posted: a bathroom this week. I have to admit that I did bad last week, in the living room. I was sick a couple days, and lazy a couple more. Ah well, time marches on, and I am rewarding myself anyways with a small room this week. Please print out the Bathroom checklist to clean along with me!

line 3

last *�* next