Michelle's Place

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Addiction #1: Crochet



Crochet Blogs
Previous | Next
I ♥ Crochetville
Crochet Pattern Central
Denise's Crochet Paradise
Around the Crochet Table
Stargazer's Links


I am Shetland Wool. I am a traditional sort who can sometimes be a little on the harsh side. Though I look delicate I am tough as nails and prone to intricacies. Despite my acerbic ways I am widely respected and even revered.

What kind of yarn are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

I'm making:


  • pumpkins
  • fall doilies
  • Mile-a-minute afghan [3 strips, plus joining, left]
  • [Just half of the joining, left!]
  • @ crochetville!
    bag gallery

On hold:


  • crochetville, a
    stash reduction


Addiction #2: Mystery novels


Nancy Atherton, England
Joanne Fluke, baking
Earlene Fowler, quilts
Dianne Mott Davidson, cooking
Susan Wittig Albert, herbal
Nevada Barr, park ranger
Sue Grafton, female p.i.
Janet Evanovich, female p.i.
Miriam Grace Monfredo, upstate NY mysteries
Stop, you're killing me
Authors on the web


Addiction #3: Children's books


Random House LGB
Little Golden Books

Collecting Little Golden Books
Illustrators
SurLaLune Fairy Tale studies
Nancy Drew, sleuth
Barnes and Noble
Scholastic books


Addiction #4: Home cleaning and organization


Image by Anaesthetic
Woman's Day worksheets
Organized Christmas
Organized Home
Family Grand Plan
Flylady

Immediate goals:

  • Civil service forms--yeah, yeah, yeah, just do it already!
  • Finish putting patterns in binders
  • Paint half wall in living room


Addiction #5: Yoga, Pilates, fitness


Yoga.org
Santosha yoga postures
Winsor Pilates

About me:
About me I'm definitely a ram Totally Complete Jav-ahhhh It's my water All kinds All the time

Email me

**Wishlists**
My Amazon wish list
Tim's and my Walmart wishlist

Today I'm

The internet is:

The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

Upstate NY is:

The WeatherPixie

moon phases

Join me:




I'm on a
Suck it in, girls!
I've fallen off the wagon =o(
Clean along 2004
Shed/Garage

I'm reading:




Kid's Request:





Use my buttons:


Michelle's Place by Julie
Michelle's Place by Donna
Michelle's Place by Donna
I like acrylic
I brake for 

yarn
My kids hide my 

hooks
Clean along 2004
Clean along 2004


Politics:



Click for www.electoral-vote.com
I support Terror Alert Level

Bloginality:


I'm an ISTJ. What are you?


Kids Pages:


Emsie!
Hogie!
Fry!


Credits:


Diaryland
Older 

entries
Adapted from Raging Pistachio

Internet Bumper Stickers
Subscribe with Bloglines


I'm Blind as a Bat

Friday, Jul. 30, 2004 - 3:29 pm

Cripe! this font is coming out small--I don't have time to figure it out now, but IN THE MEANTIME, YOU CAN hold down your CTRL button and roll the mouse dial (between the buttons, if you have one) up or down to enlarge the font on your screen.

Friday, Jul. 30, 2004 - 1:46 pm

Woo hoo! I like my new colors and graphics--keepin' it fresh....

Just time for a quick note today, then I gotta do some work (well, since I'm at work, anyways). Ryan didn't care for swimming that much (??!), so he's sitting out til next summer. Holly loves it, and even is jumping in now. Emma's read about 10 books so far this summer, and written summaries of them all--she's almost half done with her 5th grade reading for the year. Tim's got (well, we all had) a summer cold last week. The weather here is now calling for 2 inches of rain by Sunday. I am almost ready for our giant yard sale on the 7th--it BETTER NOT RAIN THAT DAY.

I made a purse for the bag-along, but I have to get handles for it. I started Denise Augustine's August doily for my parents to take down to my sister when they visit her next. I still have to join the freakin' pineapple blanket, but the squares are all made at least �.

25 %

My weblog owns 25 % of me.
Does your weblog own you?

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Tuesday, Jul. 27, 2004 - 2:25 pm

She says that it's 65 and sunny in Rochester, and it's actually been raining all day. In fact, we have not seen the sun here in 18 days. It has rained every damn day. So much that even though we had our roof fixed last year, it is leaking again. So much that the toilets won't flush because the ground is so saturated [I have no idea how THAT all works--nor do I want to, I know only that when it's really rainy here, the toilets don't work that well.]

And I see that the internet mood is "happy"--what the heck!? I've never seen it be anything but tired.

I know, pictures. I can hear you thinking, "Who cares about your weather, I want to see PICTURES of your pineapple afghan. It's done, right?!" Well, smartypants', all the squares are done, so there. I just have to block and join them. And you KNOW how much of a pain I think the whole digital camera thing is!

I have also completed a watermelon doily--from the current issue of Country Woman magazine; a scarf from the Vogue book below; and am 1/3 of the way done with my new crochetville c-a-l called "bag along" (it's supposed to make you think of "tag along" but I doubt anyone's made the leap, lol!):

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I swear, pictures are coming.

Quiz time!

Rerun
You are Rerun!



Which Peanuts Character are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

See you soon!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004 - 2:37 pm

Right now, in Rochester, we are having the mother of all rain storms. It has been raining for almost 5 days straight now (hence, no progress on the desk below). It makes me so depressed, I can't do anything!

Well, how's everyone doing on the

Clean along 2004!? I hope you haven't fallen off the wagon--I slipped a little, but am back on again. Still on bedrooms (link to checklist at the left)--I will leave it there until the end of July, since people usually have more than one bedroom.

Ok, remember how I said NO MORE PROJECTS UNTIL PINEAPPLE AFGHAN IS DONE!? Well, I cheated. I made a scarf from my new book. I just needed a teency break, I swear! I am back to squares now. 5 left to do, then joining. Chug, chug, chug. Pictures of everything tomorrow.

Summer's been crazy busy so far, I cannot believe summer break is almost half over! Emma's been doing library programs, swimming lessons, and is signed up for a week of old-fashioned school soon. She's been reading up a storm, too.

Holly had her first swimming lesson today (she's 2), and she loved it, I hear. She gets in the pool with Tim, and he swishes her around, etc. My mom and Emma sat on the bleachers with Ryan (he's 1), who had "a totally forlorn look on his face" according to Tim. [Ryan is the waterbug of the 2 babies, but we had to pick one to go in with Tim. Holly's older, so she got to do it.] The instructor noticed, and asked if that was Tim's son, and when hearing why Ryan was sidelined, she offered to have another instructor hold Ryan so he could participate too! Wasn't that nice?! I hope he likes it as much as I think he will. I can just picture his inner thoughts, "That's the BIGGEST bathtub I have ever seen!"

I'll leave you with another quiz:


You're Siddhartha!

by Hermann Hesse

You simply don't know what to believe, but you're willing to try

anything once. Western values, Eastern values, hedonism and minimalism, you've spent

some time in every camp. But you still don't have any idea what camp you belong in.

This makes you an individualist of the highest order, but also really lonely. It's

time to chill out under a tree. And realize that at least you believe in

ferries.

Take the Book Quiz

at the Blue Pyramid.

Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004 - 2:12 pm

How to make a Michelle
Ingredients:

1 part competetiveness

1 part crazyiness

5 parts empathy

Method:
Combine in a tall glass half filled with crushed ice. Add a little fitness if desired!


Username:

Personality cocktail
From Go-Quiz.com


Which HP Kid Are You?

Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004 - 1:47 pm

Hi all--

I haven't felt much like blogging lately, so please beware that today's entry is my half-hearted attempt to let everyone know I'm still alive and kicking.

I have gotten strict with myself, by telling myself that I cannot start ANY new crochet projects until my pineapple pillowghan is DONE. So the last few nights, I have been making squares for that. Now I have 8 left to go, and then the joining. I can't wait to finish it!

It's been really hard to hold off new projects, because I bought this book:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

and reaaaaaaaaaallly want to start making some scarves!! I don't know why, it's been 80 degrees here lately. Eh, who knows.

I've been depressed at work, because all my friends are quitting and either going back to school or finding other jobs. I have been trying to find another, but have had no luck so far. I feel very alone and lonesome here. I waiver between trying to make the best of it, and being very down in the dumps.

Oh well, enough of my sorry self today. I will try to post something more uplifting (maybe with photos) in a few days.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Wednesday, Jul. 07, 2004 - 1:44 pm

Hi everyone!

I hope you all had a great holiday, mine was ok, it was just NICEEEEEEEEE to have 2 days off of work without having to use personal/vacation time. My husband had to work alot over the long weekend, though, so we didn't get to do anything special (sniff).

Bad news, I did not get that college library job that I applied for a couple weeks ago. Which REALLY pisses me off, (a) because I had EVERY qualification and experience they wanted, and then some; and (b) because they never even contacted ANY of my references; and (c) they only bothered to tell me I didn't get it when I emailed them for the fourth time to "see if they were still interviewing." So I know they must not have tried real hard to interview all qualified candidates. They probably had someone handpicked already. Quit f****g toying with my head people.

On the positive side, there is posting for another "paraprofessional" positions at another nearby college [read: we want you to have your master's degree and do professional work, but we are not going to pay you the going rate]. Like the above-mentioned position, it was open last summer and I didn't get it, and now it's open again. Hmmm, hiring people, perhaps you aren't hiring the right CANDIDATES, duh. Maybe try interviewing someone who meets the QUALIFICATIONS.

Thanks for letting me get that off my chest--now I can show you some socks that I have been venting my frustrations on:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I am really enjoying making these, though I am finding it hard to make 2 of something exactly the same way--nothing I make ever comes out the same way twice, so socks are a challenge for me, lol!

Here's another project I started last night. I picked up this school desk from a roadside junk pile, and am painting it. The desk part has chalkboard paint on it (it needs another coat), and the chair will be another color (don't know what yet), probably with some stenciled designs on it. I will crochet a pouch or bag to hang from the chair back. Then my kids can use it for coloring, homework, whatever:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Ok, gotta run now, but I will try to post again in a day or so. If it isn't too much trouble, please wish me luck with this "new" job application--I really need it!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

last *�* next