Michelle's Place

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Addiction #1: Crochet



Crochet Blogs
Previous | Next
I ♥ Crochetville
Crochet Pattern Central
Denise's Crochet Paradise
Around the Crochet Table
Stargazer's Links


I am Shetland Wool. I am a traditional sort who can sometimes be a little on the harsh side. Though I look delicate I am tough as nails and prone to intricacies. Despite my acerbic ways I am widely respected and even revered.

What kind of yarn are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

I'm making:


  • pumpkins
  • fall doilies
  • Mile-a-minute afghan [3 strips, plus joining, left]
  • [Just half of the joining, left!]
  • @ crochetville!
    bag gallery

On hold:


  • crochetville, a
    stash reduction


Addiction #2: Mystery novels


Nancy Atherton, England
Joanne Fluke, baking
Earlene Fowler, quilts
Dianne Mott Davidson, cooking
Susan Wittig Albert, herbal
Nevada Barr, park ranger
Sue Grafton, female p.i.
Janet Evanovich, female p.i.
Miriam Grace Monfredo, upstate NY mysteries
Stop, you're killing me
Authors on the web


Addiction #3: Children's books


Random House LGB
Little Golden Books

Collecting Little Golden Books
Illustrators
SurLaLune Fairy Tale studies
Nancy Drew, sleuth
Barnes and Noble
Scholastic books


Addiction #4: Home cleaning and organization


Image by Anaesthetic
Woman's Day worksheets
Organized Christmas
Organized Home
Family Grand Plan
Flylady

Immediate goals:

  • Civil service forms--yeah, yeah, yeah, just do it already!
  • Finish putting patterns in binders
  • Paint half wall in living room


Addiction #5: Yoga, Pilates, fitness


Yoga.org
Santosha yoga postures
Winsor Pilates

About me:
About me I'm definitely a ram Totally Complete Jav-ahhhh It's my water All kinds All the time

Email me

**Wishlists**
My Amazon wish list
Tim's and my Walmart wishlist

Today I'm

The internet is:

The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

Upstate NY is:

The WeatherPixie

moon phases

Join me:




I'm on a
Suck it in, girls!
I've fallen off the wagon =o(
Clean along 2004
Shed/Garage

I'm reading:




Kid's Request:





Use my buttons:


Michelle's Place by Julie
Michelle's Place by Donna
Michelle's Place by Donna
I like acrylic
I brake for 

yarn
My kids hide my 

hooks
Clean along 2004
Clean along 2004


Politics:



Click for www.electoral-vote.com
I support Terror Alert Level

Bloginality:


I'm an ISTJ. What are you?


Kids Pages:


Emsie!
Hogie!
Fry!


Credits:


Diaryland
Older 

entries
Adapted from Raging Pistachio

Internet Bumper Stickers
Subscribe with Bloglines



Wednesday, Sept. 01, 2004 - 3:22 pm

Ok, I'm late (posting these) but I get there:

Sleepy socks for Holly. They are made from a pattern here, out of jamie yarn and the "fuff" from my secret pal:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And here is a photo of what I call my "Granny Ghanny." It is my scrap eater afghan, and it's target size is king-size bedspread. Without even trying, it has reached 3'x3'! Plus I got to clean out some old yarn stashed, and use up all my ends:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Tim's mom is visiting us these week, and she brought me a fabulous present! Two bags stuffed FULL of yarn that she found at a garage sale--there is jiffy thick and quick, and lots of other acrylics. Thanks, Cathy!

And for my husband Tim, I FINALLY found confirmation that the majority of the country says IN LINE, not ON LINE. Ha! ;o)

Finally, in honor of Tim's and my "date" tonight (our first time out without carseats and monsters in a while), a quiz:

wine
You're a Glass of Wine!



What Type of Alcoholic Beverage Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Perfect!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Friday, Aug. 27, 2004 - 1:56 pm

I spent most of today at work updating my blog. I figure I deserved a break, because this last 3 weeks has been soooooo busy at work. �

I put on alot of new little buttons, made here, and moved stuff around in the left and right columns. I hope you like it! I also added a Tag Board at the top right, so you can now make comments to me. Yeah!

I've been busy the last few days making socks for my kids to sleep in during the fall/winter--the girl's socks have a row of the fluffy yarn at the top. Not sure what to do to make Ryan's socks more "catchy"--he really loves the fluff, but it's too feminine, and I just can't put it on his. I will think of something.

Ryan, at 20 months, has taken to climbing and then falling out of his crib. I am leaving work early to go to Walmart to buy him a toddler bed, because I can't worry about him getting a concussion every nap and night-time. The damn crib is at it's lowest point, and there is NOTHING in there for him to climb on--he is just pulling his body up til he can swing his legs over the edge. Monkey boy. I routinely have to pluck him off of tables and bookcases, because he just loves to climb.

Pictures Monday, hopefully!

---------*�*----------

Thursday, Aug. 26, 2004 - 3:34 pm

I've got pictures!

Here is a scarf I made; I call it "Fall Colors" {original, eh?}. Emma is modeling it.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.usImage Hosted by ImageShack.us

And here is a picture of the package I received from my fabulous Autumn Secret Pal from Crochetville. I absolutely LOVE the things she sent, and have started using the fuzzy yarn already (Ryan calls it "fuff" [fluff]):

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And here, disappointingly, is a picture of the pieces of my latest bag for the bag along. I am not that happy with it--I sewed it together last night--because the handle's too long, the bag's too small, and, I don't know--I will probably use it for a project or small diaper bag or something. I will post a completed picture soon:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

That's all for now!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Tuesday, Aug. 24, 2004 - 1:45 pm

Blog and blog friends--I haven't forgotten you! I have just been very busy at work, and haven't had time to update things here. I will be able to do it shortly, I promise!

������������������������������������

Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004 - 3:44 pm

I haven't felt much like blogging lately. I don't feel like I am getting anything done, even though I did complete a scarf. And I am using up ALL my ends and little balls of yarn to make a giant multi-color granny square blanket. I am using an N hook, and using the yarn colors randomly, so it is turning out very "primitive country" looking.

I will be sprucing up the blog pages a little over the next few days, so that's all for now!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Friday, Aug. 13, 2004 - 2:44 pm

Okey dokey, I have added a link to the crochetville bag-along gallery at left, under the button for it. Check it out (in all it's infancy stage)!

Here's my first finished bag:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

It's about 10" wide x 8" tall, and a little floppy. It's made from a free online pattern which I can't find (sorry), and cotton yarn from walmart.

And here's my reveal gift from Donna, my Summer Secret Pal:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Thanks again, Donna! Those slippers are to be make shortly--

I have reshuffled my projects so that I could get excited about what I am working on crochet-wise. I am making a scarf, bag, doily now. �

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2004 - 3:14 pm

Sorry, I've been a bit scarce lately. I've been swamped at work (which sucks, still), and I rarely have the energy to do MORE computer stuff when the kids go to bed--it's my only crafting time, after all.

I am still working on the same stuff, and am having a little trouble getting excited about any of my projects. I HATE sewing squares together, but need to finish. I think that I will be truncating my 63 squares afghan, and making a smaller lapghan out of the 30-some squares that I have done now. The thought of joining that many squares makes me wanna jump into traffic. I'd rather wrap it up (pun intended), and start something new.


Jolly good, wot! Anyone for tennis? That'll be ten ponies, guv. You're the epitome of everything that is english. Yey :) Hoist that Union Jack!

How British are you?


this quiz was made by alanna

Cheerio!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Thursday, Aug. 05, 2004 - 3:20 pm

What else would the results be?!

HASH(0x8c55b10)
You speak eloquently and have seemingly read every
book ever published. You are a fountain of
endless (sometimes useless) knowledge, and
never fail to impress at a party.

What people love: You can answer almost any
question people ask, and have thus been
nicknamed Jeeves.

What people hate: You constantly correct their
grammar and insult their paperbacks.



What Kind of Elitist Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Wednesday, Aug. 04, 2004 - 1:37 pm

Shocking news--it's raining here! In fact, there is a flood warning. Well, I guess I am grateful for the 2 days of sun we did have, on Sunday/Monday. I wish this sogginess would end though. The weather people are saying it's the most rain in summer here since 1944. Great........

Holly's in a big girl bed now, and she loves it. It's a mattress and boxspring on the floor, since we don't have a headboard, but that is actually good, because there's nowhere to fall to, lol! She's only appeared on her own in the living room at nap and bedtime about 5 times so far (because she's no longer penned in, yikes!). She's so cute and proud of herself when she comes out, like, "Hey guys, what's going on?"

Emma's learning HTML with me from webmonkey, and she seems to be liking it. I'd like to have her updating her own page (linked at left) by the end of the summer. I think she'll be able to do it!

Crochet--Well, I've been busy! I have the pineapple square cal blanket about 2/3 sewn together, and what a pain in the a** that is! I hate sewing squares together! Here's a picture of it laid out before joining:

crochetville cal

Here are 2 doilies I have finished:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

And a scarf from the Vogue book:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Currently I am working on another Vogue scarf, a present for my secret pal at crochetville, the stuuuuupid afghan [still], and my purse for the Image Hosted by ImageShack.us at Crochetville.

I'll leave ya with another cute quiz:



Which flock do you follow?


this quiz was made by alanna

Til next time!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

last *�* next